Feel-Better Chicken Soup

Thank goodness for a decently stocked pantry.  We are having homemade chicken and stars for dinner. That’s what happens when someone in our family gets sick.  I make chicken soup. Luckily I have a nice batch of homemade broth and some organic chicken in the freezer.  (If you haven’t made your own broth I highly recommend it.  Nourishing Traditions has a great recipe.)

I started with some olive oil, carrots, and onion.  I sautéed that up in my dutch oven, and then added 2 bay leaves and a giant block of chicken stock.

Block o' Stock

While that was melting down I thawed 2 chicken thighs, and chopped them into small pieces. This was made a little difficult by the two kitties engaged in intense food-scavenging.  We survived.

Once the stock came to a simmer I added the chicken and let it cook for 2 minutes.  Then I added the Stelline (star-shaped pasta).  I added about 1/2 a box (approx. 5-6 oz.) and let that cook for 6 minutes more. Stir as it cooks, as those tiny stars love to stick to the pot. (Note: with this much pasta, it’s going to soak up almost all the broth.  Use less pasta if you like a soupier soup.)

Then, voila!  Homemade chicken and stars in about 30 minutes.  I served it with saltines.  Don’t they have mystical healing powers too?

One response to “Feel-Better Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: What We Actually Ate « The Ideal Me

Leave a Reply

