What We Actually Ate

I learned a few things from menu planning this week.

  1. Having a plan is helpful, and I didn’t feel completely unprepared.
  2. If the grocery store doesn’t have the core ingredients I need for a recipe, I can substitute and/or change up my menu plan on the fly.
  3. I really need to cook something quick/super easy on Tuesdays and Thursdays since we have activities starting at 6:30 p.m.
  4. I really don’t like to try new recipes during the week.
  5. I really don’t like to spend more than 30 minutes cooking.

So, we didn’t eat according to plan.  We did okay though, and never actually ordered takeout.  I’d call Menu Mondays a success.

  • Monday: Chicken Noodle Soup
  • Tuesday: Pasta with Ground Turkey and Marinara Sauce. A 20-minute go-to meal that we have once a week or so.
  • Wednesday: Taco Night!  Taco night still seems like fun to me.  We enjoy a good taco around here.
  • Thursday: Taco Night, part 2. Yes. A repeat.  I was not thrilled, but we were able to eat quickly.
  • Friday: Homemade Ham and Mushroom Pizza.  I didn’t make the crust from scratch, but it was assembled at home.
  • Saturday: Campanelle with Ground Turkey and Roasted Pepper Sauce. After a long day of working around the house, that Paul Newman sauce makes for a quick and easy dinner.
  • Sunday: Pork and Veggie Stirfry with Soba Noodles.  Quick, easy, and full of veggies.  Just what I needed after a recovery day around the house.
2 responses to “What We Actually Ate

  1. your Sunday meal sounds awesome!

    • Thanks, Abby! It was really tasty, and super easy! Just chop up the veggies you like (mushrooms, celery, green onion, garlic, bell peppers, broccoli), stir fry the pork and veggies, add a little sauce (I use La Choy Stir Fry Sauce), and serve with soba noodles. Yum!

Leave a Reply

