Pumpkin Obsession

I’m a little crazy over pumpkins.  I have to work really hard to resist buying anything and everything pumpkin related. Stoneware, embroidery patterns, pumpkin flavored pasta, that evil pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks.

You guys, I buy one of those lattes every year and I think they are gross.  To me they taste like bologna and Play-Doh.  And I still buy one every year.  I have a problem.

So, I was very proud of myself when I came home from the Farm to Family market with only four pumpkins.  It took me 15 minutes to decide which ones to take home.  I wanted them all!

cinderella pumpkin

In the end I chose three pumpkins that could be used for cooking, and only one that was purely decorative and more traditional.  That one was for T.  I pick the crazy knobby, warty, veined, weirdo ones over the traditional orange every time.

In the coming months I look forward to enjoying my pumpkins in a couple of ways.

  1. Just staring at them.  It makes me happy to enjoy them sitting around my house looking pretty.
  2. Cooking them. I’m excited to try some new recipes and see what kind of results I get.  You’ll get to see if I totally wreck them, or actually make something tasty!

So, yeah.  My name is Julie, and I’m obsessed with pumpkins.  At least it is a seasonal love affair.

carving pumpkin

Leave a Reply

